How many countries joined the EU in 2013?

How many countries joined the EU in 2013?

Since then, the EU’s membership has grown to twenty-seven, with the latest member state being Croatia, which joined in July 2013….Historical enlargements.

Applicant Issued Accession/ failure rationale
Bulgaria 1995-12-14 2007-01-01
Croatia 2003-02-21 2013-07-01
Cyprus 1990-07-03 2004-05-01

What were the first 15 countries to join the EU?

Listed by accession date

# State Accession
1–6 Italy 23 July 1952 ( ECSC) 1 January 1958 ( EEC)
West Germany

What are 3 basic requirements a state must fulfill to enter the EU?

These are:

  • political criteria: stability of institutions guaranteeing democracy, the rule of law, human rights and respect for and protection of minorities;
  • economic criteria: a functioning market economy and the capacity to cope with competition and market forces;

What happened on 1 July 2013 to the membership of the EU?

The most recent enlargement of the European Union saw Croatia become the European Union’s 28th member state on 1 July 2013. A referendum on EU accession was held in Croatia on 22 January 2012, with 66% of participants voting in favour of joining the Union.

What are the 10 nations of the European Union?

The EU countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

Who joined EU in 2004?

1 May 2004 – 10 new countries Cyprus and Malta join the EU along with 8 Central and Eastern European countries — Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia — finally ending the division of Europe after the Second World War.

Which European country is not a member of EU?

The European countries that are not members of the EU: Albania* Andorra. Armenia.