What is the old capital of Australia?

What is the old capital of Australia?

In 1927, the national capital was finally ready and the national government relocated from its former seat in Melbourne to Canberra within the Australian Capital Territory….List of Australian capital cities.

State/territory Victoria
Capital Melbourne
Percentage of state/territory population in capital city 76.47%
Established 1835
Capital since 1851

What is the capital of Australia answers?

Canberra is the capital city of Australia. In 1913, officially Canberra was regarded as the capital city of Australia. It is located between Melbourne and Sydney the two cities of Australia.

Is Sydney a capital of Australia?

Sydney, city, capital of the state of New South Wales, Australia. Located on Australia’s southeastern coast, Sydney is the country’s largest city and, with its magnificent harbour and strategic position, is one of the most important ports in the South Pacific.

Does Australia have two capitals?

Foreigners often debate between Sydney, News South Wales (NSW) and Melbourne, Victoria (VIC) when asked what the capital of Australia is, but the correct answer is actually Canberra, Australian Capital Territory (ACT).

What is the capital of Australia Quora?

Canberra is the federal capital of Australia. It occupies part of the Australian Capital Territory in southeastern Australia and is about 150 miles (240 km) southwest of Sydney.

What is the capital of Australia in 2018?


Canberra Australian Capital Territory
Territory electorate(s) Brindabella Ginninderra Kurrajong Murrumbidgee Yerrabi
Federal division(s) Canberra Fenner Bean (from July 2018)
Mean max temp Mean min temp Annual rainfall 19.7 °C 67 °F 6.5 °C 44 °F 616.4 mm 24.3 in