What are the 8 samurai virtues?

What are the 8 samurai virtues?

Here are Bushido’s Eight Virtues as explicated by Nitobe:

  • I. Rectitude or Justice.
  • II. Courage.
  • III. Benevolence or Mercy.
  • IV. Politeness.
  • V. Honesty and Sincerity.
  • VI. Honor.
  • VII. Loyalty.
  • VIII. Character and Self-Control.

What is the unspoken code of the samurai?

The unwritten code of the Samurai is called the Bushido code, translated as the “Way of the Warrior.” Bushido is a system of standards that became the life force of the samurai during the feudal periods in Japan. Bushido was not written on paper, but in the heart and soul of the samurai.

Are there 7 or 8 virtues of Bushido?

There were seven official virtues of Bushido: righteousness, courage, benevolence, respect, honesty, honor, and loyalty. Piety, wisdom, and care for the elderly were unofficial virtues.

What are the eight principles of Bushido?

Nitobe Inazo explains the recent virtues of Bushido as justice, courage, mercy, respect, honesty, honor, loyalty, and self-control. Here goes the list of eight virtues of Bushido: Justice or Rectitude.

Which of the 8 Bushido code characteristics and traits of a samurai is the most important?

Rectitude or Justice, is the strongest virtue of Bushido. A well-known samurai defines it this way: ‘Rectitude is one’s power to decide upon a course of conduct in accordance with reason, without wavering;; to die when to die is right, to strike when to strike is right.

What is the Bushido oath?

The unwritten Samurai code of conduct, known as Bushido, held that the true warrior must hold that loyalty, courage, veracity, compassion, and honor as important, above all else. An appreciation and respect of life was also imperative, as it added balance to the warrior character of the Samurai.

What are the tenets of the Bushido code?

The so-called “Bushido” was the traditional code of the samurai. Bushido had several main aspects which were important: frugality, loyalty, mastery of martial arts and honor. Also, there were eight really important virtues: righteousness, courage, benevolence, respect, sincerity, honor, loyalty and self-control.

What are the values of Bushido?

Bushido formalized earlier samurai moral values and ethical code, most commonly stressing a combination of sincerity, frugality, loyalty, martial arts mastery and honour until death.

What are the 7 parts of the Bushido code?

The 7 Virtues of Bushido

  • Gi – Justice or Integrity. This is ensuring that the individual has the right way and mindset when making decisions – that they have the power to decide swiftly.
  • Yu – Courage.
  • Jin – Mercy or Benevolence.
  • Rei – Respect.
  • Makoto – Honesty.
  • Meiyo – Honor.
  • Chugi – Loyalty.
  • First Usage.

What qualities did the samurai prize most List 8 qualities valued by the samurai?

Bushido mentions the eight virtues of a Samurai being: Morality, courage, compassion, politeness, honesty/sincerity, respect, loyalty, character plus self-cControl.

What does the code of Bushido mean?

noun. (in feudal Japan) the code of the samurai, stressing unquestioning loyalty and obedience and valuing honor above life.