What is a Schedule 2 development?

What is a Schedule 2 development?

Schedule 2 includes smaller scale projects but more sensitive in nature. It’s discretionary and further criteria need to be assessed by the LPA before deciding.

What are EIA regulations?

The EIA is South Africa’s key regulatory instrument to mitigate and/or manage the impacts of new developments and activities that are considered to potentially impact on the right to an environment that is not harmful to health and well-being.

Does my project need an EIA?

EIA is always required by developments covered by Schedule 1 to the 2011 EIA Regulations. These are usually large-scale projects or schemes with the highest level of potential environmental impact, for example airports, oil refineries and motorways.

What is EIA screening?

When is Environmental Impact Assessment required? ‘Screening’ is a procedure used to determine whether a proposed project is likely to have significant effects on the environment. It should normally take place at an early stage in the design of the project.

What is EIA schedule?

The EIA regulations define two schedules of developments. For Schedule 1 projects an EIA must always be carried out. For Schedule 2 projects an EIA must be carried out if the development is likely to have a significant impact on the environment by virtue of its nature, size or location (see selection criteria below).

How much does an EIA cost in South Africa?

Environmental Impact Assessments costs vary depending on the scope of work required to conduct the impact studies, in general, Basic Impact Assessments can cost between R80 000 – R150 000. Full Environmental Impact Assessments costs between R200 000 – R500 000 or more.

Who can conduct EIA?

Depending on the EIA system, responsiblity for producing an EIA will be assigned to one of two parties: (1) the government agency or ministry, or (2) the project proponent.

What projects dont require EIA?

Category B2 projects (Do not require EIA). Thus, Category A projects and Category B, projects undergo the complete EIA process whereas Category B2 projects are excluded from complete EIA process.

Which industry category does not need EIA?

The projects requiring an Environmental Impact Assessment report shall be termed Category ‘B1’ and remaining projects shall be termed Category ‘B2’ and will not require an Environment Impact Assessment report.

Why is screening important in EIA?

Screening determines whether or not a development proposal requires environmental assessment, and if so, what level of assessment is appropriate. Screening is therefore a decision-making process that is initiated during the early stages of the development of a proposal.

What is a Schedule 1 project?

The carrying out of development to provide any of the following— 1. Crude‑oil refineries (excluding undertakings manufacturing only lubricants from crude‑oil) and installations for the gasification and liquefaction of 500 tonnes or more of coal or bituminous shale per day.

When is an environmental impact assessment required for Schedule 2 development?

For Schedule 2 development a local planning authority should not make a Local Development Order unless they have adopted a screening opinion or the Secretary of State has made a screening direction. If screening identifies likely significant environmental effects, then an Environmental Impact Assessment is required.

When do the screening provisions of the 2011 regulations apply to?

The screening provisions set out in Part 1 and Part 2 of the 2011 Regulations will continue to apply to requests for a screening opinion or direction made or initiated before 16 May 2017. (Including both screening opinions adopted by the local planning authority and screening directions made by the Secretary of State.)

What is the environmental impact assessment directive (EIA)?

These regulations apply the amended EU directive “on the assessment of the effects of certain public and private projects on the environment” (usually referred to as the ‘Environmental Impact Assessment Directive’) to the planning system in England.

What needs to be included in Schedule 4 of the regulations?

It must also include any additional information specified in Schedule 4 to the 2017 Regulations which is relevant to the specific characteristics of the particular development or type of development and to the environmental features likely to be significantly affected.